Lettuce Surprise You Co-op Update!

We are 2/3 of the way through the first calendar rotation of our co-op! This has been fun. It seems everyone has enjoyed it so far – even the assigned work day of shopping & sorting. Robertson Produce has been excellent to work with and my sweet parents have been so kind to provide our distribution point. Daddy even goes out to the storage room early on co-op mornings to turn on the air conditioners and get the room nice and cool for whoever is coming to do the work that day. I think the only problem we’ve really run into at all is that a lot of us like to hang around and visit a few minutes when picking up our shares, and the room can get a little crowded at times. It’s fun, though! On the occasions where a member has been out of town on co-op day, it has been very easy to find an alternate to pay $10 and take that extra share. In fact, I’ve had a few alternates tell me, “Let me know if you need someone else again next time!” This is proving to be a success. Round two of our co-op will start in October if all goes as planned and we’re expecting our group will grow by at least a few more shares! We’re accepting new members between now and the end of September.

Here are some photos of what we’ve gotten each time so far.

The first week, Melissa and I did the shopping. I took a few extra photos along the way on our work day, so first is a photo of the actual stash we took home. We bought Roma tomatoes, avocados, red onions, lemons, cantaloupe, cilantro, leaf lettuce, and squash. The second photo is of all the bags waiting to be picked up. The box in front is of the “bonus items” we had after all the sorting into shares was complete. When co-op members came to pay their $10 and pick up their share, they could pick a bonus item out of the box. There are two ways to handle extras; either just distribute something extra into each bag or allow members to choose something they want. Everyone so far has just had a little “bonus section” like this, which has worked out really well! It’s fun to choose your bonus item!

IMG_8982

IMG_8980

The second week, Emily and Patti shopped and we got corn, pineapples, spinach, asparagus, and oranges. (Forgive the clutter in the photo!)

IMG_9055

The third week, Krisi and my Aunt Sue bought cantaloupe, lots of bell peppers, zucchini, grape tomatoes, mushrooms, broccoli, and bananas.

securedownload-1

The fourth week, Tabby and Lisa got red onions, tomatoes, squash, corn, cilantro, and strawberries.

securedownload

If you love fresh produce like all of us Lettuce Surprise You co-op members do, every other Friday feels like Christmas! Two more shop days to go. Mrs. Paula & Terri are up next, and then my mom & Mrs. Barnes will finish up this round.

Interested in joining next time? Contact me!

One thought on “Lettuce Surprise You Co-op Update!

  1. That’s so great! I hope your group grows for the next rotation! You’ll see a lot of difference in the amount of produce you get even when just a few new people add. I have decided to pass up my spot in my co-op this rotation. With my new job and the boys both in school and basketball season around the corner, I thought I needed to not have that to worry about right now. After we get our new routines down, I’ll see about getting back in again for the next rotation. In the meantime, I’ll be checking out the beautiful produce at Kroger. I guess I have to get back to creative menu planning, being intentional with veggie sides, instead of letting the co-op prod me.

Leave a Reply

