Humble Pie, coming right up!

One of my favorite movies of all time is While You Were Sleeping. There’s a line in the beginning of the movie where Lucy – Sandra Bullock’s character – is looking back on her childhood. She says her dad would tell her, “Life doesn’t always turn out the way you plan.” Then she adds, “I just wish I’d realized at the time he was talking about my life.” Hear, hear, Lucy Moderatz.

West Monroe is a bit mystifying. This is home and if I’m in Louisiana, this is where I want to be, but let’s be honest: this is not the land of opportunity. There’s no real reason housing costs here should be ridiculously high, but they are. I’m looking to buy a house. It’s a goal I’ve had for a while, but it almost feels like I’m spinning my wheels sometimes. Being a single gal, I’m not looking to live in a shady part of town. But guess where I can afford to buy a house? Yep – the shady parts of town. Even though I’ve been saving for quite a while and am very disciplined in my spending and saving habits, if I want to buy a house it’s likely going to be in a questionable area of town. It’s a bit disheartening. Okay, it’s very disheartening.

I’ve got the sweetest parents in the world. Have you met my parents? If not, you should. You’d love them. Everyone loves them.

My sweet parents have kindly asked – even encouraged – me to move back into their home temporarily so I can kick my house downpayment savings account into high gear. They don’t want me to live in the hood either. They have pointed out how much money I could save if I just lived at their house for a while and they’ve started cleaning out my old bedroom for me. So, I’m about to be that person. I’m about to be that boomerang kid and I’ve not been a kid in a long time. This is going to be mighty humbling.

I’m thinking by the end of September, I’ll be back at my parents’ house for a while, sleeping in my old bedroom and tucking away as much money as I can while keeping a close eye on the real estate market.

If you drive past my parents’ house and feel the need to point and laugh, I will totally understand. If you feel the need to yell, “cut the cord!” at me, I can only nod in agreement, because that’s something I have said when I’ve heard of perfectly capable 30-something year old folks living with their parents. I’m not allowed to get too upset about any heckling, because I genuinely understand where it’s coming from. Do I hope for heckling? Heck, no! But if it happens, I get it. I have to ask, though – does it make it slightly more acceptable since unemployment, Cheetos, video games, and lounging around in my underwear are not on the agenda? Maybe just a little? No? Okay.

It was certainly not in my life plans to move back into my parents’ house at this age, and if we’re being completely honest, a lot of my life doesn’t look like I expected it would. Life doesn’t look like I thought it would, but it certainly doesn’t look bad, either. I guess I’ve just gotta roll with it and acknowledge how blessed I am to be the daughter of Bo & Ginger.

One thought on “Humble Pie, coming right up!

  1. No judgement here!!! Erick and I moved back with my parents WITH kids so I could go back to school!! AND in hindsight, we should have stayed with them a little longer to build up a down payment for our house! They tried to convince us to stay, but our pride was getting to us.
    You are not a freeloader, and you have the most wonderful parents in the world!! …well, my parents are the most wonderful…but your parents are too!! :o)
    You are doing the right thing!!

Leave a Reply

