A Change Is Gonna Come

After seven months on a temporary job assignment, I found out today I am being transitioned back into my permanent position effective next Monday.

Is child support my dream job?  No.  No indeed – not by a long shot.  Am I happy to be going back to my permanent position of child support caseworker effective one week from today?  YES.  I can hear the hallelujah chorus!  Well, that may be a bit of a stretch.  Am I happy I was part of the Transformation Team?  Yes.  I needed a break from casework, I got to do something different for a change, and I’ve enjoyed my coworkers on the hub.  Overall, it has been a good experience.  Everything in its season and that season is coming to an end.  I’m ready.  This post is probably going to be necessary for my own good, because I’ll likely need to read it in about three or four months and remind myself of these things, so here we go with reasons I am thankful to be returning to my permanent position:

#1 – I, for the most part, know what I’m doing as a child support caseworker.  Sure, there are things that come up here and there that I have questions on, but overall, my brain has worked it all out.  I usually feel competent in that position, and there have been many times on this project that I’ve felt like a moron, so I’m looking forward to feeling competent again.  Will I have more work to do than any one person can handle?  Absolutely.  But what I can do, I will certainly do well.  It’s time to hustle.

#2 – I will soon be able to listen to talk radio again while I work!  Oh how I’ve missed you, Laura Ingraham and Dave Ramsey!  There were many tasks in my caseworker job where I could be on autopilot and talk radio served as good company and mental stimulation rather than a distraction.  The tasks that took more brain power usually fit neatly between my two favorite shows.  If more brain power than autopilot was needed for my tasks in a day, I could forego one of my shows.  But usually, talk radio and I got along just fine at work.  My job for the past seven months hasn’t allowed me that simple pleasure.  I’m looking forward to getting back in the swing of things and then reacquainting myself with my good friends, Laura and Dave.

#3 – I’ve missed my coworkers!  I genuinely like my coworkers and although we’ve been in the same building all along, my interactions with them have been minimal.  I’m happy I’ll be working alongside them again soon.  They’re good people, those colleagues of mine.

#4 – Instead of having thirteen roommates – or in the last few weeks, five roommates – I will go back to having three roommates.  It has been fine and we’ve all gotten along well which is quite miraculous when you consider we had fourteen women in the same room every day, but everyone likes their personal space.  I’m about to have bookoos of personal space in comparison with the last seven months of my work life.

I’m ready.  Let’s do this.  Bring it.  Preferably, bring it somewhat gently as I get my feet wet again, but bring it nonetheless!  I’m thankful for the break I’ve had while on this other project, but I’m thankful to be returning.  I never thought I would say it.  Never say never.

Leave a Reply

