A Prayer for Joy

After hearing Dave Ramsey mention this book for years, I finally bought myself a used copy on half.com.  The book is 48 Days to the Work You Love.  It’s no secret that I want to figure out the best way to spend 40 hours (or more) of my week.  I’m desperately seeking a positive change.  I am thoroughly enjoying this book and wish I had bought it years ago.  It wasn’t long after I started reading it that I tossed a couple of highlighters in my purse to mark the passages that stand out to me.  One of my highlighters seems to be starting to dry out.  This book is outstanding.  I’ve read some books – good books – on the subject, but none as good as this.  The beginning of Chapter 5 starts this way.  It’s exactly how I feel, but worded way more eloquently than I could have ever come up with.

“A Prayer for Joy”

Help me, O God,
To listen to what it is that makes my heart glad
And to follow where it leads.
May joy, not guilt,
Your voice, not the voices of others,
Your will, not my willfulness,
Be the guides that lead me to my vocation.
Help me to unearth the passions of my heart
That lay buried in my youth.
And help me to go over that ground again and again
Until I can hold in my hands,
Hold and treasure,
Your calling on my life.

– Ken Gire, Windows of the Soul

Amen.  Help me, indeed.

One thought on “A Prayer for Joy

  1. Lindsay, I loved this! I am up working on something and decided to take a facebook break:) Came across this and my friend, you are so talented!!! I’ve always loved to read your writings. I am glad to see you are doing well! If you are not busy, I will be facilitating a Work Life Balance Workshop Tuesday at the West Monroe Chamber and I think you would enjoy it:) Its put on by the Business Professional Women’s Group at 5:30 pm. Have a wonderful Monday my friend!

    Alberta Green

Leave a Reply

