What’s the secret?!

I’ve concluded that I must live in a magical, wonderful town that is hiding secrets from me.  I am clearly not privy to something.  West Monroe, Louisiana is now on the map, thanks to Duck Dynasty, but this town is really nothing to write home about.  We have a lovely dog park.  Daily Harvest makes good haystack cookies, so they’re worth a visit if you’re in the area.  And yeah, while you’re here, check out the Duck Commander store.  It’s a pretty neat place.  Undoubtedly, however, the best things about this town are my parents, my sister, and my dog, and most folks don’t meet them when they come here.

Some hidden mysterious greatness can be the only thing to explain why housing costs are so outrageous here.  I am currently saving for a downpayment on a house.  While I have fun living with my sister, I don’t want to be a renter forever.  Probably in about a year, I will have a nice downpayment saved and can start seriously looking to buy.  But the truth is, I am having a hard time getting too excited about buying a house here.  All the reasons behind that are other stories for other times, but suffice it to say that I don’t think this is the place for me.  Unless some things change, I will be disappointed in myself if I look back in thirty years and find that I am still here in this same old rut.

Anyway, let me get back to the point.  A friend of mine has commented that housing costs are outrageous, but I assumed he meant everywhere.  Nope.  He meant here specifically.  West Monroe/Monroe.  The land of (secret, apparently) opportunity.

Out of curiosity, I visited trulia.com and searched several different cities in the southern part of the country, using the range of $75,000-$85,000, because, let’s face it, I work at the child support office.  I haven’t yet found that hidden pot of gold in this town.  I’d be looking at a realistic starter home.  Plus, I don’t want to be “house poor” and spend every bit of my income on my home.

Pensacola, Florida, with the beautiful Gulf of Mexico just minutes away by car had an adorable house for $75,000.  (They had several, but I focused on that particular one in my search results.)  Little Rock, Arkansas, which is a bike friendly town and offers fun stuff to do, had a charming updated older home with gorgeous hardwood floors and lots of windows for $76,000.  (Like Pensacola, they had several good options in that price range, but that one was my favorite.)  I looked at Nashville, Tennessee and Tuscaloosa, Alabama (although, I’m not sure Tuscaloosa has a lot to offer by way of fun things to do) and found nice houses just shy of $85,000.  Then there’s West Monroe.  This is so unbelievable, I have to post a link.  For a mere $82,500, you can call this beauty yours!  (Please, scroll through the photos for the full effect.  You must scroll through the photos.)

http://www.trulia.com/property/3116236497-2617-N-11th-St-West-Monroe-LA-71291

It also confuses me that the listing describes this as a “cute” house.  Really?  We’ve really lowered our standards, folks.  If this is cute, I’d hate to see ugly.

I don’t understand.  I don’t know what else to say.

One thought on “What’s the secret?!

  1. This “cute” home has had to have a price drop! I guess the market may be playing out because I see several drops in price on some beautiful “starter” homes around this beautiful town. Yes if only we could find that mysterious wonderful thing about this area we would be willing to overpay by at least 25% for a place to live… Except salaries are not consistent with housing prices – oh I just thought of a theory but not posting until further thought is done.

Leave a Reply

