Butterflies on the subway & bouquets of freshly sharpened pencils.

I used to enjoy watching movies.  Now there will be a movie in the theater that I’m interested in seeing roughly two or three times per year.  Redbox doesn’t get much of my business anymore either, because if I’m going to commit two hours to something, it has to be something I think is worth it.  But then there are a handful of movies I can watch over and over again and not grow tired of.

They just don’t make them like You’ve Got Mail anymore.  It’s just the most charming movie.  In fifteen years, there have been few movies as good as this one, at least in my opinion.

I love Kathleen’s apartment.  It’s so bright and happy and has so many bookshelves full of books.

I love the funny observations made and discussed by the characters, and the friendship Kathleen shares with her three employees.

I love the soundtrack.  It has such fun, interesting music.

I love all the New York City scenery.  (Seeing everyone walking along the sidewalks is so energizing to me.  It’s one of my favorite things about visiting New York City.  I love all the walking.  I wish I could live somewhere that I could commute by foot or by bicycle more.  There really is something exhilarating about it.)

I love Kathleen’s charming little bookstore.

I love all the funny lines – “People do really stupid things in foreign countries”, “Patricia makes coffee nervous”, “You are marching into the great unknown armed with … nothing.  Have a sandwich.”

I love that it’s not overrun with profanity and vulgarity.

I love that there are also so many profound lines that I can so easily relate to even though it’s just a romantic comedy.

They don’t make them like You’ve Got Mail anymore.  Films like that are a lost art.  What a shame.  Thank goodness for DVDs.

Leave a Reply

