Branching out – spaghetti squash!

One of my favorite shows is The Biggest Loser.  The season that just ended was a great season.  There were so many likable people competing.  I think one reason this show appeals to me so much is that I love food and I love to find healthy new ways to cook different things.  I prefer to eat healthy food, so I learn a lot by watching this show.

I love squash, but I had never tried spaghetti squash.  I’m sure I had heard of it, but never gave it much thought.  Then this season on The Biggest Loser, one of the contestants, Jackson, mentioned spaghetti squash several times.  He talked about how much he liked it and mentioned that he could now enjoy one of his favorite foods – spaghetti – without all the carbs of pasta.  This definitely piqued my interest.  I also love spaghetti on occasion, but hate all the empty calories that come from pasta.

I found Jackson’s recipe online and then started my search for a spaghetti squash each time I was in the grocery store.  After several misses, I finally found one.  It was the last one in the store.  I bought it and followed Jackson’s recipe.  I had no idea that spaghetti squash comes apart and looks just like noodles when cooked.  It’s amazing!

My sister also liked it.  In fact, she liked it so much that she thinks we should always use a spaghetti squash when available and then just use pasta for our leftover sauce once the spaghetti squash is all eaten.  I tend to agree!  If you’ve never tried spaghetti squash and are looking for a healthier alternative, I highly recommend it.  The only difference I noticed between pasta and spaghetti squash was that the spaghetti squash has a bit of a crunch to it.  It just has a firm crispness to it.  But it’s great and so much healthier.  And, kudos to Jackson for the idea of putting baby spinach in the sauce.  I love spinach, but that thought never crossed my mind!

Image

Here is a link to Jackson’s spaghetti squash recipe – http://www.biggestloser.com/nutrition/recipes/jacksons-spaghetti-squash

4 thoughts on “Branching out – spaghetti squash!

  1. We love spagetti squash Lindsay . I found it at Probably Kroger about 25 yrs ago. At that time I would try new foods on my 4 kids. We like it as a pasta sub, but its good with butter and cheese . You might like Italian dressing tossed with it and not tomato base sauces. I introduced Brussels sprouts and broccoli ,snow peas , asparagus and cauliflower to the kids when they were elem age. You kind of know our family background. My folks only planted the general veggies in their southern garden.The above mentioned veggies would never have been on my Dads schedule to plant.A hint on buying spag sq. – if a thumbnail will not make an indention on outside of squash- don’t buy . It maybe to hard to cut open and may have sprouting seeds inside . Had to take one back to store for this. The left over spag squash can be chopped up and reheated with your shredded cheese.

  2. I’m not a huge fan of spaghetti squash, but I will use it when it comes in our co-op box. The last time was better, but now I can’t remember how I fixed it… Mushrooms, Parmesan cheese, red pepper flakes,… something else… Oh well. Next time I get another one, I might try this recipe.

  3. Thanks for the tip on how to pick a good spaghetti squash, Mrs. Beverly! The one I had may not have been the greatest. It did have sprouting seeds inside and it was hard to cut open. But I didn’t know the difference! Ha! I’m glad to know how to pick a good one now! (Also, I love Brussels sprouts – another discovery I’ve made within the last couple of years!)

Leave a Reply

