Shrimp Fajitas

Image

I bought some bell peppers – red, yellow, and orange – a few weeks ago when they were on sale at Super One Foods.  I used a little bit in what I was cooking that day, but separated the rest into three freezer bags.  Lately I’ve been thinking about how I wanted to cook with some of those peppers and fajitas came to mind.  I perused the Super One website and found that their shrimp (peeled & deveined – yes!) are on sale this week, so I went and bought some shrimp and a few other fajita necessities – cilantro, tomato, avocado, etc.  My mom and sister had both gone to south Louisiana for the day, so I invited Daddy over and we ate these shrimp fajitas for supper.

I loosely followed this recipe – http://www.food.com/recipe/shrimp-fajitas-89933 – and plan on making it again.  I’m sure it would be just as good with steak or chicken.  This recipe didn’t actually call for the bell peppers like I had, but I learned in cajun cooking class to just use a recipe as a guide.  Our teacher/chef told us, in his cajun accent, “If you like onion, put in mo’ onion.  If you like garlic, put in mo’ garlic.  The mo’ you put in the mo’ betta it be.”

My sister recently gave me some of those “Perfect Tortilla – Fajita Bowl Maker” pans, so that’s what we’ll have for lunch with the leftovers – shrimp fajita bowls.  It’s sad but I had to conceal the leftover guacamole by putting it in a non-clear container because I know how my sister can devour guacamole, and I want some for my fajita bowl.  She has no idea there’s hidden guacamole in our fridge and she won’t know until our lunch is ready and half of the guacamole belongs to me!  She’s like a bloodhound when it comes to anything avocado based.  I must take extreme measures if I want any!

Leave a Reply

