Greek Pita Pizza.

For a brief moment this morning, I missed Facebook.

Probably 95% of the time, I bring my lunch to work.  Partially that is because I am tight with my money and don’t want to blow it on fast food.  Partially it’s because our office isn’t near any good food options that we can take advantage of during our thirty minute lunch break. (When we used to be on Tower Drive, we had much better food options nearby, like the late great Kyoto, PieWorks, the late great Moe’s Southwest Grill, and for a quick pick-me-up, Starbucks.)

I’m tired of sandwiches.  I want some new, fresh ideas for healthy, quick, easy lunch options.  So this morning, I missed the convenience of posting a quick status update requesting lunch ideas, and getting several responses.  I decided to wing it.

While standing at the deli counter waiting on my old fashioned ham, I picked up a package of pita bread.  As I was reading the back of the package, I came across a great idea.  The suggestion was to bake your pita and “go Greek” with feta cheese, tomatoes, and olives.  I didn’t have olives, nor did I really want to buy any, but we did have feta cheese at home.  I adore tomatoes.  I brainstormed a little more as I shopped and realized the only other thing I needed to buy besides the pita bread was a tomato.  At home I had spinach leaves, feta cheese, olive oil, and Cavender’s Greek Seasoning.  The package didn’t specify how long to bake it, so I just took a guess.

After eight minutes @ 350, I came up with this:

ImageIt was quite tasty!  Next time, I might toast the pita for a minute before baking it, so it’ll be a little crispier.  I also might add some olives for additional flavor.  But for a first attempt, I’d call it a success.  And two bonuses are that (a) it was simple, and (b) it was so pretty!  I sure do love some bright, colorful food.

2 thoughts on “Greek Pita Pizza.

  1. Here’s what you need to do next time and it’ll be like the ones I make: Toast the pita for a few minutes with some feta and chopped olives on it. Then top it with some diced tomato, cucumber, and red onion that’s been mixed with a little olive oil and salt and pepper. If you have any tzatziki, top it with a little of that; otherwise you can use a little Ranch dressing. Deee-lish! I want some now!

    • That sounds delicious! I don’t know if I’ll buy another package of the flatbread or not. I haven’t been impressed with anything I’ve made other than the little Greek pita thing in this post. But your way sounds extra good!

Leave a Reply

