I am a Saints fan.

The Saints are having quite the offseason this year.  As a proud member in good standing of the Who Dat Nation, it’s been very frustrating, to say the least.

First of all, they need to sign Drew Brees to a long term contract.  It’s certainly not like he hasn’t earned it.  Brees is a class act & is the face of the New Orleans Saints.  The fans love him.  He makes us proud, both with his leadership on the field & his character off.  They need to pay the man.

Secondly, this bounty thing has people going nuts.  Some of the things I read are bizarre to me, like the Atlanta Falcons owner saying that even if Matt Ryan wasn’t named as a target, he’s sure he was one.  Well, yes.  I’m sure he was.  And I’m sure Drew Brees is the “target” of any defense the Saints go up against any given Sunday.  It’s the nature of the game.  Football is supposed to be hard hitting & exciting.  Of course the defense wants to sack the opposing quarterback.  I definitely do not condone hitting with intent to injure someone.  But this is not flag football, folks.

Should Sean Payton’s year long suspension stand, I will miss seeing him on the sidelines next year.  I think Payton is an outstanding coach.  Should players such as Jonathan Vilma get suspended for some games, I will miss seeing them play.  Should we end up having an average or less than average season, I will be disappointed.

BUT … I am a Saints fan.  I am.  I will wear my Saints jerseys & beanies with pride.  I will root against the Falcons & the Cowgirls wholeheartedly.  I will remain a Saints fan.

I don’t necessarily think we will have a bad season.  I think the Saints kind of enjoy the underdog role.  So I say bring it on.

Oh, and while we’re at it, let’s pay Drew Brees, please.

Leave a Reply

