My exercise of choice – bicycling!

Every summer, a small group of friends & family gets together & takes a trip to the beach for a few days.  Last summer on our beach trip, Amber, Jody, & I made a Walmart run for some groceries we needed, and we came across these adorable bicycles in the sporting goods section.  They were women’s beach cruiser bikes.  We loved them.  All three of us talked about how cute they were.  My mom & her friend, Mrs. Barnes, also came across those bikes on one of their trips to the local Walmart & admired them.  Mama & I decided we both wanted to buy those bikes when we got back home.

My sweet, generous Daddy ended up treating both of us to new bikes.  I keep my bike at my parents’ house along with Mama’s, because they have such a great neighborhood for riding.  We’ve had a lot of fun riding our bikes.  My sister & brother-in-law live down the street from my parents, so they rode with us several times last summer, too.  My nephew, Seth, who is in the photo below, led our biking adventure once.  Suffice it to say, Seth was our personal trainer.  He took us on our longest, most strenuous ride that day. It was great.

Image

So, now that the weather is getting warmer and my income tax return is pending, I’m considering buying another inexpensive bike from Target or Walmart to keep at my house.  There are times I want to ride, but I don’t want to drive to my parents’ house to do it.  So, this will give me options.

And, I’m also thinking I may end up buying a bike rack for my car, that will hold two bikes.  I just find riding bikes to be really fun.  Running?  NO.  Not fun for me.  Bicycling?  YES.  Absolutely.  And it’s even more fun when you have someone to ride with.  If I have a bike rack that’ll hold two bikes, I can take my bikes – both of them – when we go to the beach this summer.  Then two of us can ride bikes to the souvenir shops, a restaurant, or a snowball stand.  We can just ride up & down that main stretch of highway & enjoy the breeze & the salty air.  Or if Melissa & I want to take a day trip to a small town not too far from here, just for a fun day, we can put the bikes on the rack & ride our bikes through the downtown areas.  That just sounds really fun to me.  It sounds like a plan.  🙂

Leave a Reply

